Eighty hour work week

Discuss issues about your medical residency program with your peers. Violations of the 80 hr work week? Too much residency scut work? Discrimination? Bad attendings? Were your clinical decisions questioned? The perfect place to discuss & vent your problems anonymously. Network with other Residents & Fellows about Fellowship programs & opportunities .

Eighty hour work week

Postby Helen » 23 Oct 2003, 22:09

I am a PGY 2 Pediatric Resident in a Univ Program in FL. Recently, I ended up with a Q2 call b'coz the chief wanted to go out of town on some emergency. Is this fair, I mean, rules are created to be followed and the very person who should be enforcing it is pushing it on me. All you chiefs out there...dont be like this guy!
Helen

80- HR RULE

Postby AbdulH » 01 Nov 2003, 22:31

Not fair at all. ACGME procedure says that you have to take this up with the Residency program director. If you are not satisfied with his reply, write to your institution's education committee...and then to ACGME. But looking at it practically, no residency director wants to be bothered about this or anything else....don't you guys agree...I mean, when was the last time the program director actually did anything good for us on his own...without anyone forcing him to....my suggession, BYPASS ALL THIS AND WRITE DIRECTLY TO ACGME COMPLAINTS OFFICER. YOU CAN BE ANONYMOUS IF YOU WANT TO. The address is:

Marsha Miller
ACGME Complaint Officer
Suite 2000
515 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60610-4322
mmiller@acgme.org
312-755-5041
AbdulH

ACGME and work hours

Postby IntMed Resident » 18 Feb 2004, 00:07

Yea, teach them a lesson - put their programs on probation. ACGME is very serious now. Just send an anonymous e-mail or fax
IntMed Resident
0 Star Member
0 Star Member

NRMP Lawsuit

Postby GoodIMG » 21 Mar 2004, 14:23